Thursday, September 11, 2008

Georgian medieval Christian Art

Pisces sign is seen on top center of a Georgian medieval piece of art, on the right of the sun sign. The order of the astrological signs of the zodiac is against the clock. In middle top we see the sun and opposite it- the moon. During the twelfth and thirteenth centuries, the Roman Church considered Zodiac signs as representations of Christ, and this Georgian zodiac seems to be inspired by this conception. Picture is courtesy of henribergius from Flickr who took it in the Sakartvelo Republic of Georgia. 

Under each sign we see one of the twelve apostles.

From Kerikeri Christian Assemblies Of New Zealand:

Aries sign represents- “…the Lamb  of God who takes away the sin of the world” (John 1:29).

Taurus sign represents Jesus as the future Ruler of the world.

Gemini sign represents Jesus in harmony with the church.

Cancer sign represents security of the church in Jesus’ arms.

Leo sign represents Jesus the Lion of Judah (Revelation 5:5).

Virgo sign represents Jesus born of a virgin.

Scorpio sign represents the devil.

Libra sign represents judgment.

Sagittarius sign represents the battle for salvation.

Capricorn sign represents Jesus being a sacrifice.

Aquarius sign represents Jesus pouring out the Holy Spirit.

Pisces sign represents the early Christians.  The cord represents their union by the Holy Spirit.

No comments: